Not posted for a while – @nicholassm1th

My poor blog has been neglected a bit recently, several reason for this:

  1. Leeds are so poor it is making me depressed thinking about football to the extent that last night for the first time in ages I never even listened to Eddie Grey on the radio let alone tried to find an internet stream of the match. Oh and we lost 4-1 to Bournemouth.
  2. I have been very busy at work I was on site all last week leading an inspection team of 63.
  3. The hotel we booked into was a 4* dive with no gym or pool so I barely took any exercise this combined with hotel food made my Fit for Florida project hit the buffers very hard.

 

FOOTBALL To catch up on the football, Leeds won on Saturday, we were very lucky Millwall were the better team and played us off the park for long periods of the game. But we managed to score two goals, I think Matt Smiths was a bit of luck and the goal from McCormack was class. We went to the game courtesy of Symington’s who looked after us very well, thank you Simone and Sam.

Watching from the posh seats has turned my boys head, he loved the blankets that you could wrap yourself in to keep warm. I enjoyed watching the game from the side of the pitch you do see the game differently than when watching behind the goal, when I am too old to stand I will move to the flanks but for me I miss the warmth you get from being so close to other supporters I don’t need a blanket!

Image

While I know consistency is the key in football I do wonder how BMD is still in a job since 14 December 19 games 4 wins 5 draws 10 losses, 17 point from a possible 57, loads of other manager have lost their job with these returns. Of course Leeds being Leeds are in the position of not being able to recruit if they did let him go. The club is a soap opera, people who thought the Dammed United was a work of fiction would think the film of the current situation was a SciFI Psychological thriller with a touch of face thrown in. As I type I imagine Bates hidden behind the curtains controlling the levels just like in the Wizard of Oz.

Our potential new owner, forgot to pay 400,000 euros tax on his new yacht and has found guilty of this in court so the Football League (who have a history with punitive action against Leeds) blocked his application to become the Owner of the club. There are way around this and we should take a leaf out of the Birmingham City book who have managed to keep Carson Yeung as their owner despite him being found guilty of laundering £55m and sent to jail for 6 years. I am sure there will be some sort of justification for this inconsistency but it does feel a bit unfair but hey ho! We are Leeds and we don’t give a ….

 

When I was looking as other football clubs with dubious owners I came across this on the Who ate all the Pies website http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/lists/146224/top-10-insane-football-club-chairman-owners-presidents.html

 

WORK Last week I was in London leading a inspection of a mental health trust. This fourth inspection completed using the new CQC methodology. The team on site compised of over 60 people the team included:

  • CQC inspectors as team leaders
  • CQC pharmacists
  • CQC enforcement leads
  • CQC Analyists
  • Professional experts working in other NHS and independent providers
  • Experts by experience (people who have used services)

We were also joined by other CQC staff to see who the methodology was coming together including the deputy chief inspector of hospitals.

While the inspection took about six weeks to put together and plan the fact the taxis let us down on day one meant that this was not going to be totally with out challenge. None of the challenges were insurmountable and the team around me helped to ensure that these did not change the inspection aims at all.

It was great to work with a diverse group of staff many f who had never been involved in an inspection of this size before and at the end of the week on site I was reassured that we had a real feel of what the trust was like for patients staff and the public.

It is no exaggeration to say that the staff of the trust who we met with were open and candid throughout the time on site and they are a credit to the organisation they work for.

We are now writing the reports distilling the finding from all of these people into reports that are useful to patients, the public and the trust, and I am doing this whilst planning two further inspections, I never realised I could multi task as well as this!

 

FIT FOR FLORIDA Last week was a nightmare in my Fit for Florida lifestyle change, Sunday to Friday I walked 26,000 steps on the Saturdays either side I managed 27,500 I never swam or broke into a sweat except when the taxis didn’t arrive. I planned to walk every day but we were in Kensington and to walk anywhere you had to wait at traffic lights so this plan was on a looser from the start. We also worked 12 hour days and spent time in the bar and eating three course meals at eight o’clock at night. I haven’t been on the scales since returning home, but I have worked really hard to catch up swimming over a mile a day since. I have changed from swimming a mile, which took over an hour when I started to swimming for an hour every morning.

Next time I go away I will ensure that the hotel we book has a 20-meter swimming pool as a minimum!

About altwoodmoon

Leeds United fan stand on the kop and away more often than not. Dog owner and trainer (ha). Blogs are my own ramblings but am know to copy (okay plagiarise) other people when they are saying what I want only better but always give them credit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

