Birthday Year – April Present

Another meal out!

We got all dressed up and headed to Huddersfield this time. We had met Barrington Douglas earlier this football season when we had been guests over at Huddersfield Town, it was good to discover Barrington is a Leeds fan, but it was better to discover that Barrington was a chief and restaurateur.

A visit to the Discovery Bay website, which is the restaurant that Barrington owns had my mouth watering and since opening the cards on Christmas Day this was the one treat I could not really wait for.

So yesterday the day finally arrived when we were to visit Discovery Bay. Barrington had excited my taste buds when he described the food on the menu the passion that he talked about his Jerk Pork Pie had my mind made up before I had even left home.

Image

We were welcomed and shown to our table and drinks were ordered, as we were in the Caribbean Red Stripe was my drink of choice.

The menu was considered and we had discussions about sharing! I explained to the son if I ordered something it was because that was what I wanted to eat and not what I wanted to cut up and share with others!

Starters

For me, Jerk Pork Pie, Barrington’s famous ‘Jerk’ Pork Pie. Served with red onion chutney and crisp seasonal salad.

For Janey, Caribbean Crab Cakes, Home made crab cakes with white and brown meat combined with fresh onions, garlic, sweet peppers, pimento and sweet potatoes. Pan fried until golden brown and served with a sweet chilli sauce for dipping.

For the boy, Discovery Bay BBQ Ribs, Succulent pork ribs seasoned with home made jerk spices and drizzled in sweet and sour sauce.

All that remained were the rib bones!

Image

Next time I have decided that I am having Jerk Chicken Macaroni and Cheese Pie

Mains

For me, Seafood Medley served with Tagliatelle, Scallop, monkfish and mussel, served in a sweet creamy Caribbean sauce and tagliatelle pasta

For Janey, Finger Licking Rum Chicken, Succulent chicken breast marinated with blue mountain herbs and spices, then coated in a sticky sweet rum and stout sauce.

For the boy, Rum Pork, Loin of pork marinated with fresh garlic, onions and thyme. Served with a rich and creamy rum sauce.

 

Did we have room for pudding? Of course we did, Janey and I had the Lime Zest and Ginger Cheesecake and the boy had Chocolate Cake with Ice cream.

The Jerk Pork Pie was good, I am not a pork pie lover but the jerk seasoning added to the pie and I can see why it is so popular. The ribs were demolished by the boy who only left a pile of bones and some green leafs!

The seafood medley was divine, I do like scallops, they are in my top ten of all foods. But the broth that they were cooked in was out of this world, the cream and coconut infused with scotch bonnet chillies was truly wonderful, I would recommend this to anyone visiting.

Puddings are not my thing I prefer cheese and crackers! But if I have to have a pud cheesecake is on the list. I wiped my plate clean however both Janey and the boy let the side down as neither of them could finish theirs.

In summary, this is a very nice place to eat. The staff are as passionate and proud of the food as Barrington himself. We all enjoyed our food and the portions were big enough that some of us could not finish our puddings! The service was good and the drinks were very reasonable, the food was all cooked fresh and we will be going back.

 

 

About altwoodmoon

Dog Training Scuba Diving Leeds United fan. Dog owner, walker and feeder. Qualified scuba diver, Tec diver and PADI Pro. Kids flown the nest so have a new life with my wife, loads of holidays. Blogs are my own ramblings but am know to copy (okay plagiarise) other people when they are saying what I want only better but always give them credit.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment