Day five and six Wolf Island

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1983.JPG

After the Iconic Darwin’s Arch we sailed to Wolf Island, I was reluctant to leave the hammers behind. I have dived with hammerheads before but never in the numbers we had at the Arch, to be really honest the Red Sea will never be the same.

Wolf was seven more dives, this time fur sea lions, spotted eagle rays and more hammerhead sharks. When I say more hammer head sharks I do not mean more I mean MORE!! I was ill and missed a whole day diving so only managed four of the seven dives, but this time I swam in a school of hammers, there were hundreds all around me in every direction not giving a jot about the neoprene wrapped human who was squealing with delight as he made his way to the surface stop at the end of another hour under water with these majestic beasts.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1881.JPGDCIM100GOPROGOPR1845.JPGDCIM100GOPROGOPR1843.JPGDCIM100GOPROGOPR1837.JPGDCIM100GOPROGOPR1838.JPGDCIM100GOPROGOPR1839.JPG 

For these dives we move along the ledge of the balcony to the cleaning station and then just watch as everyone calls by for a spruce up. At the end of every dive the emotions come to the surface and the honour, privilege and pleasure of sharing the same space on equal terms, there is no fear to or from any of the creatures that we have seen, moray eels move between your legs and arms without a care in the world and as I went to hold on once I saw some peripheral movement as a scorpion fish moved away from my hand, the only threat we felt was from the ripping currents and  the risk of being thrown into the rocks. The fur sea lions made this look simple as they bobbed and weaved without any disenable affect from the surge.

On the best dive at Wolf, which was the last dive we were on the edge of the balcony for forty minutes, in a ripping current that was trying to take out arm out of their sockets looking out over the cliff into the blue and there were a line of 5 eagle rays, a school of hammerheads moving right to left with seven Galapagos sharks swimming left to right and a couple of turtles just bobbing along it was a truly National Geographic moment. This was the Capt’s 500th dive and my 333rd dive what a dive this was truly the best dive I have and possibly will ever make. I felt truly in ore of the spectacle witnessed and this dive has killed diving for me, the Trout at Capernwray will never hold this level of satisfaction.

About altwoodmoon

Dog Training Scuba Diving Leeds United fan. Dog owner, walker and feeder. Qualified scuba diver, Tec diver and PADI Pro. Kids flown the nest so have a new life with my wife, loads of holidays. Blogs are my own ramblings but am know to copy (okay plagiarise) other people when they are saying what I want only better but always give them credit.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Scuba Diving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment