Day seven – Fernandina

The day I guided the dive!!!! Our dive guide was struck down by the same bug most of us have suffered from and I was asked to lead the Sharks!

Tick GALAPAGOS GUIDE in the dive C.V.

Bloody hell that was different, from 30-degree water to 16 degrees, even with an under suit on, the water gave me cold shock and I was ready to get out after 35 minutes. The dive was a wall dive and offered the opportunity to see Red lipped bat fish, Galapagos bull head sharks and sea horses. All I saw were two red lipped bat fish a few harlequin wrasses and loads of pencil anemones.   After 35 minutes I was happy to end the dive and head back to the boat.

D344D76B-701A-4C3E-8CEF-B9693EC716FD_4_5005_c

After a ninety minute surface interval during which we watched iguanas swimming around the bay, it was off for another dive to remember. We jumped in near to the shore and spent 50 minutes at 5 metres in the company of marine iguanas and Galapagos Bull Sea Lions. The iguanas were set on having their daily feed after basking for the morning on the beach and the sea lions were set on playing and swimming around with us divers. The young sea lions also spent time annoying the iguanas. As we got back in the rib we were joined by a Galapagos Penguin and a cormorant. Jim who was with us and has over 5000 dives (though he is American) rated the dive in his top five, I have to agree that this was my best cold water dive to date. 

Our final dive at the island was a bit of a wash out with very poor visibility so the Capt and I went into dive master mode and hovered above and behind making sure everyone stayed together and got to the end point as one group.

About altwoodmoon

Dog Training Scuba Diving Leeds United fan. Dog owner, walker and feeder. Qualified scuba diver, Tec diver and PADI Pro. Kids flown the nest so have a new life with my wife, loads of holidays. Blogs are my own ramblings but am know to copy (okay plagiarise) other people when they are saying what I want only better but always give them credit.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Scuba Diving and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment